AFI’s #99 of 100: A Movie I Should Have Watched a Long Time Ago!

Image

Last week I wrote about my experience with viewing Titanic for the first time after several years. This week I watched a movie that many of you will be surprised to learn that I have never seen– Toy Story

 When I was younger and Toy Story was newly released on VHS I actually did get to see the beginning of the movie while at a slumber party. Unfortunately, however, I fell asleep and never got to see the rest of it (I also caught a bug at that party and ended up missing school the following week). Until recently, I never bothered to try watching it again. 

 All I can say is that I am so glad that I took the time to watch Toy Story. This film has won and been nominated for countless awards and made it to number 99 on AFI’s top 100 list in 2007. Because of it’s phenomenal cinematography, freshness, and fun story I do believe this film should be held in high esteem. One of the things that I enjoyed the most about the film was it’s positive message– I loved how the two very different characters worked out their differences and became friends in the end. 

 I believe that Toy Story is a great film for anyone who can appreciate a light-hearted, animated family film. I am looking forward to seeing Toy Story 2 and 3 in the future.

On a side note: Part of my inspiration for watching this movie was because one of the kids from my church told our pastor that he looks like the character, Woody. I actually agree. 🙂

About Carmen Cappy

B.S. Degree in Professional Communications from SUNY Farmingdale. Specializations include: Radio/Disc Jockey experience Entertainment writing Film/Video production and editing

Posted on May 8, 2012, in Movies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love Toy Story. It’s such a sweet story that appeals to both adults and kids. The second one wasn’t as good, but you have to see Toy Story 3. I have to say it’s more for adults, tapping into our sense of nostalgia, but also very heart warming at the end. Kinda reminds me of UP.

  2. Toy Story 3 was the natural progression of the story & it’s so hard to find examples unafraid to take that chance of moving away from the formula that brought in the 1st round of money! When Lassiter joined Disney in the Pixar buyout, they tossed the sequel and all the money invested to that point to start from scratch with the story! I’d say they made a good choice…

Leave a comment