Number 5 in the Top 100– What a Glorious Movie!

Singing in the Rain

 

After first choosing to watch and review movies that came out while I was kid, this week I decided to be a little different and watch an old classic movie- “Singin’ in the Rain.” As someone who was actually raised on the classics– and also happens to love musicals– I was kind of surprised that I never happened to watch “Singing’ in the Rain”  while growing up. I have to admit that this made me slightly reluctant to check this film out. However, I was pleasantly surprised and glad that I took the time to see it.

 

“Singin’ in the Rain” is a cute movie that takes place during the rise in popularity of talking pictures. It depicts the challenges that a group of actors face as they work to release their first talking movie, and how they overcome the challenges of synching audio with film, bad dialog, and performers who don’t speak well.  After the recent release of “The Artist” (another film that will no doubt make it on an AFI list someday), I almost found it ironic that I ended up watching another older movie dealing with a similar subject matter.


While I always tend to enjoy watching movies about movies (I’m just silly that way, I guess), probably my favorite aspect of the picture was the musical numbers. Tunes like “The Broadway Ballet,” “Make ’em Laugh,” and the title track made the movie extra fun and enjoyable for me. I would definitely recommend this film to anyone loves musicals.

About Carmen Cappy

B.S. Degree in Professional Communications from SUNY Farmingdale. Specializations include: Radio/Disc Jockey experience Entertainment writing Film/Video production and editing

Posted on May 16, 2012, in Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I totally agree that the title number is so iconic–worth a view for that alone! I also agree about the Artist–what an outstanding film–complete with scene-stealing dog! 😉

  2. Now you’ll have me humming all day! I’ve always swooned for Gene Kelly (I could watch An American in Paris any day). But Donald O’Connor owns a piece of my heart, too. IMO, he’s under-appreciated. Thanks for the post.

Leave a comment